Chili and Cornbread, My Way

What do you guys want for dinner, seems to be the question I ask my husband and daughter every single day. It seems like the answer is alway the same: “Whatever you want to make!”. Really? If I had any idea on what to make I wouldn’t be asking! Most people think that because I have professional cooking experience I am not faced with the nightmare that is trying to figure out what to make for dinner everyday.

Last Tuesday, I decided that I would not ask, that I would just make. And make I did! A vegeterian chili, done my way, without chili powder because truly, I hate it. So if you would like to try a delicious and different chili, keep reading!

11251585_10206665666990286_1696749027_n

Vegeterian Chili & Cornbread

2 cups, dry pinto beans (could use canned pinto beans, 2 large cans)

1 bag of frozen Morning Star Veggie Crumbles (meat substitute)

1 onion, diced

1 green bell pepper, diced

3 garlic cloves, crushed

1 large can of stewed or crushed tomatoes

2 tbsp, oil for sautéing

2 tbsp of paprika

1 tsp cinnamon

Salt & pepper, to taste

3 tsp, ground cumin

1 tsp, crushed red pepper ( or as much as you like)

condiments or toppings as desired ( sour cream, chives, shredded cheese)

Directions:

In a crock pot, add the dry beans with enough water to cover them. Cook the beans on high for about 4 hours or on low for 6 hours until beans are soft but still hold their shape(if using canned beans, omit this step). Check the beans about half way through and add more hot water if needed.

In a large pot and on high heat, add oil. Allow oil to heat up and add the veggie meat (or real meat), cook until lightly browned, or for about 1 minute. Add the onions, peppers, and garlic and sauté for about a minute. Add the tomatoes and stir to deglaze the pan. Add the paprika, cumin, cinnamon, crushed red pepper, and season with salt and pepper. Then, add the beans and stir to combine. Taste for seasoning and adjust the salt if needed. Reduce the heat to medium and allow to cook for about 20 minutes or until the beans have thickened, stirring occasionally. Serve with desired toppings. We like chives, shredded sharp cheddar cheese, and plain greek yogurt (instead of sour cream).

Cornbread (recipe adapted from a Paula Deen recipe)

3/4 cup of All Purpose flour

1 cup cornmeal

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 tbsp sugar

2 eggs

1/4 cup honey

1/2 stick of unsalted butter, melted (I used earth balance)

1 cup buttermilk ( I used 2% milk and a tsp of lemon juice and stirred it together)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425º and grease an 8×13 baking dish. In a bowl, mix the corn meal, flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, and baking soda. In another bowl, whisk the eggs, add melted butter, buttermilk, and honey. Pour the wet ingredients into the cornmeal and flour mixture and fold together until all combined and batter is smooth. Pour the batter into the prepared baking dish and bake until the top is golden or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Let the cornbread cool for about 10 minutes before cutting into squares, this prevents the cake from drying out. Serve as is, or drizzle with warm honey if desired but keep in mind that this is a sweeter cornbread recipe. I do not add honey on top if I’m eating with chili but if I pair it with tea, then I do drizzle some warm honey over it. Mmmm! delish!

I hope you enjoy this recipe. Comment and let me know if you do. I am always curious to know how people like my recipes.

Enjoy!

~Ana

Sharing with:

http://hopeineveryseason.com

http://www.loulougirls.com

http://romantichome.blogspot.com

http://www.thecharmofhome.blogspot.com

http://apeekintomyparadise.com

 

4 thoughts on “Chili and Cornbread, My Way

Leave a Reply

