Pozole (Mexican Corn Soup)

91a35c99-aa7b-4ca2-9359-35c4a59e82d8

Pozole is a Mexican soup that is made with hominy, dried chilies, meat, seasonings, and garnishes. It is a delicious brothy soup that can be consumed all year round. At home, I make this soup quite a lot and it is always a favorite. Most of the time I make it vegetarian but every now and then, I use chicken breasts. The vegetarian version is yummy too. Regardless of the version you choose, I promise you will love it. The spice is just right and the crunchy garnishes add great texture. If you are looking for a soup that is exciting and full of flavor, then this is the soup for you!

Pozole

3 chicken breasts, cubed or any meat of your choice (I use vegetarian fry-chick from Worthington or regular chicken breast)

9 dried Guajillo chilies

1 small onion, diced

3 cloves of garlic

1 bay leave

1 tsp cumin

Salt to taste

3 cups of cooked hominy (canned is fine too)

Water or chicken stock as needed

FOR GARNISH:
Shredded cabbage
Sliced radishes
Cilantro
Lime wedges

DIRECTIONS:

In a small pot with hot water ( about 4 cups) place the garlic and guajillo pepper. Bring to a boil. Turn off the heat and let the peppers sit for about 20 minutes or until they rehydrate. While the peppers are getting plumped, work on your soup base and garnishes.

For the soup:
In a pot, on high heat, add some oil and brown the meat (seasoned with salt). Once the meat is seared, reduce the heat to medium high and add the onion, bay leaf, and cumin. Sautee until soft and add equal parts water and stock. Add enough liquid to cook the chicken through (about 2 quarts in all). Add the hominy and season with salt. Allow it to come to a simmer. While the soup base is cooking, place the rehydrated guajillo peppers  in a blender with all the liquid and garlic. Process until all is very smooth. Pour the chilie mixture into the soup pot and stir to combine. Adjust seasoning if needed and add water if needed. Allow the soup to come back to a simmer again before serving. Serve with all the garnishes and enjoy!

Happy cooking!
~Ana
Sharing with:

9 thoughts on “Pozole (Mexican Corn Soup)

  1. Your recipe looks perfectly delicious! I seriously love pozole, with hominy and shredded pork! It’s been a very long time since I’ve had it, on a trip to Mexico City. Can’t wait to try yours! Pinned for later! Thank you for sharing!

    Like

    • Thank you Christine! Yes! I love Pozole. I usually make it with Chicken or Vegetarian but pork is the main meat used in this recipe. It’s my daughter’s favorite soup and I make it quite a lot. Hope you like it!!!
      Hugs,

      Ana

      Like

  2. This looks like such an amazing soup! I don’t think I have ever had Pozole, but I hope to change that real soon 🙂

    I am so glad you shared this recipe with Roses of Inspiration. Thank you, dear one! Hugs!

    Like

    • Oh Stephanie! You are the sweetest ever! I hope you do try it too. Soup is my favorite food so I love to try all different kinds. This is my daughter’s favorite so I make it all the time. My favorite way to make it is with beef chunks and chicken. So flavorful! I do make it vegetarian most of the time since we don’t eat meat very often. Either way it is great! I love the crunchy toppings. So delish!!! Thank you for coming by and for hosting me again!
      Hugs,
      Ana

      Like

Leave a comment